Prostitution Crimes in Arkansas
Although it is considered the oldest profession in the world, it is illegal
in most states across the country, except for Nevada. In Arkansas, prostitution-related
crimes are punishable by lengthy jail or prison sentences, expensive fines,
and a permanent mark on your criminal record which could cause irreparable
damage to someone’s reputation.
If you were arrested and charged with prostitution in Arkansas,
Ford & Cook, PLC is dedicated to protecting your rights, reputation, and future. With decades
of combined experience, our
Jonesboro criminal defense attorneys possess an extensive knowledge of Arkansas law to help you navigate through
the complexities of the legal system.
Penalties for Prostitution-Related Offenses
There are three main types of crimes related to prostitution: Prostitution,
sexual solicitation, and promoting prostitution.
An offender commits
prostitution by engaging in – or agreeing to engage in – sexual activity
with another individual in exchange – or in expectation of –
a fee. The first offense of prostitution is considered a Class B misdemeanor,
which results in a maximum jail sentence of 90 days and a fine of up to $1,000.
For a second offense, or subsequent offense, of prostitution, it is a Class
A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum jail sentence
of one year and a fine of up to $2,500.
Sexual solicitation is offering – or agreeing – to pay a person to engage in sexual
activity, as well as soliciting – or requesting – a person
to engage in sexual activity for a fee. First offense for sexual solicitation
is a Class B misdemeanor, while a second offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
Furthermore, offenders convicted of soliciting prostitution are also fined $250.
There three different degrees of promoting prostitution.
First-degree promoting prostitution is knowingly advancing prostitution by compelling an individual by physical
force or intimidation to engage in prostitution, as well as advancing
prostitution of a person who is less than 18 years of age. This offense
is considered a Class D felony, which is punishable by a maximum prison
sentence of six years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Second-degree promoting prostitution is knowingly advancing prostitution by managing, controlling, supervising,
or owning a house of prostitution involving two or more prostitutes. It
is considered a Class A misdemeanor.
Third-degree promoting prostitution is having a possessory or propriety interest in a property which you know
is being used for prostitution, and failing to make proper efforts to
stop the act. It is considered a Class B misdemeanor.
Call (870) 853-3621 to Request an Initial Consultation Today
Our Jonesboro criminal defense lawyer can thoroughly investigate your arrest
and collect evidence necessary to develop an effective and customized
defense strategy for you. We will fight tirelessly for you in order to
obtain the most favorable outcome possible.
Contact us to discuss your legal options with our legal team.