Jonesboro Attorneys
If You Are Convicted of a Commercial Driver DWI Charge, Your Career is at Stake. At Ford & Cook, PLC, we have a 35-year history of fighting for the rights that protect us all.

Commercial Driver DWI in Arkansas

Call (870) 853-3621 for Experienced Legal Representation from Our Jonesboro Criminal Defense Attorneys

The majority of drivers follow the same rules of the road. However, if you possess a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and make a living driving, the rules are often much stricter. The consequences of getting arrested and charged with a DWI can be devastating to CDL drivers, adding harmful points to their license and, in some cases, even costing their jobs.

If you are a commercial driver and were recently arrested for a DWI in Arkansas, it is imperative to obtain experienced legal counsel from a qualified criminal defense lawyer. With decades of collective experience, our Jonesboro DWI lawyers at Ford & Cook, PLC can review your case and determine all of your available legal options to obtain the most favorable outcome possible.

Penalties for a DWI in Arkansas for a CDL Driver

A first offense DWI in Arkansas is a serious matter for a commercial driver, resulting in jail time, monetary fines, and loss of driving privileges. While ordinary licensed motorists with a BAC of .08% or over can be charged with a DWI, commercial drivers can be convicted of a DWI with a BAC of .04% or higher.

In Arkansas, as soon as you are arrested by law enforcement, the officer will take your driver’s license and give you an Official Driver’s License Receipt and Notice of Suspension/Revocation of Driving Privilege. If you possess a valid Arkansas driver’s license, this Notice will permit you to drive for the following 30 days.

The Notice also means that you have seven calendar days to ask for an administrative hearing. The hearing will determine whether you were intoxicated, had a BAC of .04%, or refused the BAC test.

If you are convicted of a first offense DWI as a commercial driver and your BAC was over .04%, you will be suspended from operating a commercial vehicle for up to one year, and two points will be added to your driving record. If you are convicted for the second time, you will not be able to drive a commercial vehicle for life.

Let Us Protect Your Career Today

Even if you fail to request an administrative hearing within seven days, or you have already been convicted of a first-offense DWI, our Jonesboro criminal defense attorneys might be able to help you retain your commercial driver’s license. With your career and freedom on the line, Ford & Cook, PLC is there to help.

Contact us and request a consultation immediately.

What Our Clients Are Saying About Us

  • “Bryce is one of the best lawyers, I have ever dealt with.”

    Avvo User

  • “When I was in doubt, Attorney Bryce Dalton Cook came along and worked everything out! ”

    D.R.

  • “If you are in need of legal representation I strongly suggest Ford and Cook”

    J.D.

  • “Bryce Cook is a very caring lawyer. He takes your problems on as if they were his own.”

    Avvo User

  • “Outstanding attorney! Highly recommend. ”

    Avvo User

Contact Our Firm Online

Or Call (870) 853-3621 To Speak With Us Directly.
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.